Tags

, , ,

We had the wonderful opportunity to work with Capturing Cloud Nine Photography in June.  These two are so talented and so sweet to work with.  Our bride and groom’s engagement pictures were BEAUTIFUL (check out the picture below!) and we were so looking forward to their wedding photographs…we were not disappointed!  Jon and Renee captured our sweet client’s smiles and happiness perfectly and I can’t wait to show you the detail shots they were so kind to send us (Thanks again guys!).  Read on to learn more about this incredibly talented young couple!

1. WRITE A LITTLE SOMETHING ABOUT YOUR COMPANY & WHO YOU ARE.

JONATHAN: Capturing Cloud Nine consists of two creatives, we’re a wife and husband team. Renee first because she really is the heart and soul of this business. I play the supporting role even though I’m equally as passionate about people and photography.

We’ve been married since June 2009, and it’s been a wonderful experience ever since. Maybe that’s why we have a passion for what we do, we know the joy of marriage and really want to capture the day that two more people get to experience its wonderful gifts.

We’re a young team, 25 and 23 to be exact, don’t let that shock you. Renee’s been doing professional photography for five years now and she’s held a camera for many more years. Renee makes the decisions, has the eye, and captures some of the coolest shots at every wedding we’re honored to shoot.

I love my wife and am constantly amazed by her talents as a photographer from taking the shots to her incredible post production editing.

I on the other hand, am traditionally a designer. I’ve always been a creative, a designer, and a developer from graphic art to iPhone applications. Photography is another outlet for me to be creative and I absolutely love it.

Together we love being a family and are firm believers in Jesus Christ. We feel truly blessed by our opportunities to do what we love and we can’t ever forget to give God the credit for everything we do.

2. WHY YOU DO WHAT YOU DO?  WHAT MAKES YOU DIFFERENT FROM OTHER COMPANIES?

RENEE: I absolutely love owning my own business and being able to work together with my husband. It is a joy and complete blessing that I am able to do this.  I am always excited to meet new couples and get to know their families.  I love the fact that through this I keep making friends.

Ever since I was young art was a huge part of my life.  I loved drawing, painting, and mixing colors. Disney was a huge influence and I wanted to become an animator. By Sophomore year in college I took my first photography class. This began to change everything.  I loved every bit of the technical stuff about the camera, but when it came to focusing on the subject that was the best. Looking at people’s emotion, seeing their inner beauty come out is my favorite part.

JONATHAN: Haha, because we love it! We won’t lie, what we do is definitely a job. There’s a lot to remember as a wedding photographer. You’re not going to pick up a camera and be great, so we’ve put a lot of effort and learning into this. And we’re still learning, and plan to learn straight up till we put down a camera for the last time. But who says a job isn’t fun? Because this job is extremely fun. We get to meet some wonderful people and spend time capturing a moment that’s precious to them. We love capturing emotion, or as we like to brand it Cloud Nine Moments, when people are real and you can just see the love between them.  What could be better as a wedding photographer?

We don’t compare ourselves to other companies. Now don’t get me wrong, we keep up with photographers everywhere. There’s so many genius photographers out there and we can’t help but be inspired by them. I love being inspired by them. But we don’t compare our company with theirs.  What we do as photographers, we want it to be our own. If we constantly compared ourselves to Jasmine Star we’d no longer be Capturing Cloud Nine. In the end we are developing our style and our business, we really just want clients to see us and what we do. Then they can make their decision if we are right for them. We’re not trying to be different we are trying to be ourselves, maybe that’s part of why we love what we do.

3. FAVORITE PROJECT?

JONATHAN: I can’t pick… there’s no part of a wedding or engagement that consistently is the favorite.  Each wedding is different, everyone has a different style, and everyone puts their efforts into different aspects of their wedding.  So from one wedding to another we’ll have different parts that were our favorites. I gotta say though, any wedding with good lighting is spectacular.  Technical photography is really all about the light, give us a location with incredible light and we’ll never want to leave.

4. WHAT YOU DO ON A TYPICAL WEEKEND?

RENEE: I can’t remember! Our weekends are so diverse nowadays I’m not sure I’ve seen typical in a long time. Many of our weekends are spent on at least one photoshoot which may be engagements or a wedding. Then when given some free time we like to go see our families, hike, play sports, learn, and just rest! Sunday morning is spent in church, we love our home church of Grace Fellowship and it’s the one thing that’s definitely typical of our weekends.

5. FAVORITE SUPERHERO?

RENEE: Elastigirl –The Incredibles.  I only wish I could bend like that during a wedding.  Imagine the shots I could get!

JONATHAN: All this talk about weddings and love, thank you for this question so I can regain some masculinity :).  Haha, I thought this was going to be hard for a second because I’ve never been a comic book guy. I love almost all the superhero movies though so picking between them would be difficult.  But then I realized, I had comics of one group of superheroes when I was young, and they were awesome. So it’s gotta be the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Don’t ask me which one they were all awesome! I had comics, video games, action figures, tv show episodes, and the movies. I loved TMNT. Hey, I still watch the new ones on TV now.

6. THINGS THAT MAKE YOU SMILE?

JONATHAN: Happy things… this is a hard question. Ask my wife, I smile and am entertained by the most random ordinary things.

RENEE: Looking at God’s creation… He is the ultimate Artist, worshiping God, being able to help others, couples that are blissful, families, Disney movies, Disney songs, musicals , and romantic comedies.

7. BESIDES YOUR WEDDING/EVENT BUSINESS, WHAT DO YOU FILL YOUR FREE TIME WITH?

JONATHAN: Well I’m a designer and developer outside of shooting photography.  It’s what I love. Creating things makes me smile and I’m always up for the challenge. I’ve been developing games and websites since I was twelve years old.  Currently I love spending my spare time developing games for the iPhone. My latest game, Fly Away Rabbit, was a top 20 puzzle game on the app store a couple months ago. 
I also love to play and watch tennis! Play video games. Rewatch Lost with anybody who hasn’t seen it. Learn new things about design, development, and photography. Read my Bible.

8. ANY ADVICE/TIPS FOR YOUR SUBJECTS/CLIENTS?

RENEE: Most definitely!! Our photos aren’t our work alone. We team up with you, our clients and new friends. Your personalities make our photos special. So be confident, be yourself, and don’t worry. The more confident you are the more free you are to have fun and try something new. Your looseness and eagerness to try something new and be creative with us will make some incredible pictures.

We specialize in weddings, bridals, engagements, and trash the dress.

Contact Info:

Capturing Cloud Nine

Photographers: Renee and Jonathan Parsons

www.capturingcloudnine.com

capturingcloudnine@gmail.com

423-557-7775

